Tap handle 101

I made tap handles today.  When we moved in there was an old wobbly teak bench the previous owner left.  Sherry has been bugging me to scrap it.  So I carefully broke it down into its parts.  The cross braces I loved with the tenons sticking out.  So I thought “tap handle”.

I sanded, cut them, drilled them.  Which was no easy task, then screwed in the brass grommet.

From here its a cinch, if you are not using old teak.  Was like iron, bent the crap out of a quarter.


Ended up using a speed square to put them in


From here I busted out art skills.  

And the wood burner.  Bingo tap handles that cost less than 60 cents each, counting the lost quarter.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

